Finally after all the little snippets of footage we have been getting over the last few weeks we have the first official trailer for the live action Ghost in the Shell movie set for release early 2017.

It will please some, interest many more but a lot of people are unhappy with this film, mainly for the casting choices. We at Jack and the Geekstalk are here to talk about the product and not the controversy surrounding it, so turning off my serious brain and turning on my Anime loving one, here goes!

Take a look!

So I think you will agree that this looks awesome. Before we get into the nitty gritty of what’s actually going on just appreciate the aesthetic of the film. It looks gorgeous. A near future Tokyo with advanced technology in every facet of the world. A mixture of cold and featureless perfection, and bright vibrant colours with so much going on!

My descriptions don’t do it justice but its clear to see that the director Rupert Sanders is keeping true to his word and staying pretty close to the source material. To illustrate this one imgur user has done what I would love to have the time to do and created a side by side comparisons of much of the trailer, comparing it to the original.

Check out the full comparison here for the original post.

At first I thought Scarlett Johansson was the wrong choice to play the Major but I think her monotone voice and natural ability to remain expressionless is perfect to play an android on a search for understanding. That might sound a bit harsh but if you look back at most of her work you’ll see she very rarely changes the tone of her voice and will very occasionally show a bit more feeling in her face!

This isn’t me saying she is a bad actress because she definitely isn’t! It’s just the roles that suit her don’t tend to have much emotional development, not since Lost in Translation anyway. She has what I like to call the Keanu factor. Mr Reeves has the same skill, appearing to be devoid of emotion but managing to make you think there is all kinds of things happening under the surface!

My ramblings aside, this film is going to look amazing. It will be interesting to see how close to the story of the original they stay. I hope they do the original justice, I’ve watched this film countless times and only gets beaten to the top spot in my favourite Anime films by Akira. So I will be seeing this as soon as it is released, and while I’m not a religious man, I hope to god this doesn’t turn out to be anything like Lucy!

What do you think of the trailer? Let us know in the comments below.

Follow us on Twitter @JackGeekstalk, Instagram jack_geekstalk and SUBSCRIBE to our Podcast on ITunes and Podbean.com, Jack and the Geeks Talk.

 

Leave a comment