It’s official I’ve now reverted to being 12 again! The new Power Rangers trailer has shown us everything we wanted the last one to show and some! Let’s take a look before I start trying to use Kung Fu in my living room!

I’m drowning in nostalgia and I love it! I’ll say this right now, I don’t think this is going to be a great film but I know already I’m going to enjoy it! Apart from the obvious updated ‘teen drama’ aspect, the trailer made me feel like I was watching the original Mighty Morphin Power Rangers series just with a much bigger budget and special effects department.

alpha-5

So let’s go through the list:

Rangers? check!

Zords? Check!

Alpha 5? Check!

Puttys? Check!

Zordon? Check!

Goldar? Check!

Rita? Check!

And the Freaking Mega Zord!!!!!!!! Double Check!!

goldar

The only thing obviously missing is a green/white ranger but there is a rumour that Rita is a green ranger gone bad!

This trailer gives us our first official look at Bryan Cranston’s Zordon and I love the aesthetics they have gone for. Not just a floating head in a jar, it’s very remiscient of the Kryptonian display technology from Man of Steel. It looks pretty good.

zordon

The brief fight scenes we see with the Rangers in full armour look good too, these suits definitely look better in motion than as still images. And thank jebus we get to see some Zords fighting a huge Goldar! So it looks like we might even get the traditional bad guy starting off small then growing to a huge size, just like in the TV Show!

You can just about hear the original them tune in there as well and the classic catchphrase ‘It’s Morphin Time’! It’s going to be so cool! All we have to do is forget about the apparently relatable ‘misfit’ group of kids and just enjoy the the film!!

red-ranger

I’m going to go away and try and calm down now. What do you think of the trailer? Ready to getting Morphin? Let us know in the comments below.

Follow us on Twitter @JackGeekstalk and subscribe to our Podcast on ITunes and Podbean.com, Jack and the Geeks Talk.

Leave a Reply

