Lady Luck is definitely with us! Not only were we lucky enough to have an interview with the beautiful and talented Aesha Waks, star of many Indie films, but we now have another Exclusive interview with the Director of Aesha’s latest project, Smoke Screen.

A botched assassination of the US Attorney General forces its perpetrators to go into hiding. Meanwhile, clandestine forces forces awaken to correct the situation

I don’t know about you but I can’t wait to see this film. I love espionage, action and intrigue so this looks like it’s going to tick all of my boxes! But that’s enough of me talking about something I know very little about, ladies and gentleman, please say hello to Mr Sean Buttimer!sean-buttimer

  1. Hi Sean, our followers will have heard your name from our previous interview with Aesha Waks, star of your latest project Smoke Screen. Tell us a little about yourself and how you got into filmmaking.

When I was 9 years old, my family took a vacation to Universal Studios in Orlando.  I was so enthralled with the atmosphere and being directly injected into the stories of the films featured (at that time it was Back to the Future, Jaws, King Kong, etc).  The glitz and glamour of it all pulled me right in.

2. Smoke Screen has just wrapped filming, what can you tell us about it?

We wrapped early in the morning of October 9th, around 5am.  So we’re still decompressing!  We have a great editor lined up, John Rigores, who I know is chomping at the bit to get his hands on the footage.  It’s been a 3 year process, from concept to script to shooting, so it’s all taken on a life of its own, and though I would have liked to get the film done sooner, I think that many changes that were made over that period of time will ultimately make the project much better.

3. Are there any directors/film makers that you draw inspiration from?

Surprise, surprise, Stanley Kubrick tops that list!  Aside from him, though, guys like Ridley Scott and George Miller had huge influences, and continue to do so today.  Over recent years, Christopher Nolan, Denis Villeneuve, and Nicholas Winding Refn  have really impressed me.

4. What has been your favourite project to work on?

Smoke Screen, of course!  It’s nice to see a dream come to life.

5. You’ve been on both sides of the camera. Which part of the film making process do you like best?

Well, acting is the easiest, so I’d like to do a lot more of that!  I know that my biggest strength is as a writer, and I hope that translates into good directing as well.  Don’t ever ask me to produce, it’ll never happen.

6. What are the challenges when in charge of a film?

The biggest challenge with Smoke Screen has been making sure the budget doesn’t become a runaway train.  I’m self-funding the entire thing, so making sure we don’t throw money away has been the biggest stress contributor.

7. How do you feel when you finish a project? Sad that it’s over of excited to move on to the next thing?

Always excited to move on to the next project.  I’m constantly looking to the future, sometimes to a fault.  And the hope is you get better at your craft with each passing project.

8. Is there anyone in particular you would love to work with?

I was a big Firefly/ Serenity fan for a long time, so don’t be surprised if I sneak some of that cast in to future projects!

9. What comic book / superhero character, if given the chance, would you like to make a film about?

It feels like just about every comic book character has been done already, so I don’t think I necessarily have an answer there.  However, I thoroughly enjoyed playing the Mega Man video games growing up…I think that would be a cool character to see jump on the big screen.

10. And finally, What is your favourite film?

Blade Runner, hands down.  I’m hoping the new one is loyal to the original.

Thanks you so much for your time Sean, it was great to chat to you and getting an insiders look at the film making process. Good luck with the editing, we all hope that the final product is all you dreamt it would be.

smoke-screen
On set with Sean Buttimer and Aesha Waks

Everyone be sure to check out the website for the film www.smokescreenfilm.com follow the official Twitter account for Smoke Screen, @smokescreenfil1 and have a look at the official Facebook page www.facebook.com/smokescreenmovie to get all the latest updates!

It was great to hear Sean’s passion for his project and I am definitely going to be keeping an eye out for this and other films that I’m sure will come our way from Sean!

Our new direction continues! Stay tuned for more exclusive interviews coming soon!!!!

Follow us on Twitter @JackGeekstalk, Instagram jack_geekstalk and Subscribe to our Podcast on ITunes and Podbean.com, Jack and the Geekstalk.

 

Leave a Reply

